About the Band

Covid Adjustments

Limited marching band activities until 1/31. In person rehearsals and basketball performances will begin again on Monday, January 31st.

Sectional rehearsals can be held and are encouraged ESPECIALLY for those planning to participate in the San Francisco Chinese New Year Parade beginning 1/10. All sectional participants must pass the Daily Symptom Survey, use instrument specific personal protective equipment if indoors, and may not exceed 10 participants in a group. If you have not received your instrument-specific personal protective equipment, please email uniformsucdmb@ucdavis.edu to request it.

Leadership meetings will be held via Zoom beginning 1/10. Please see your emails for Zoom links and more information if you are an officer or section leader.

Full list of Campus Recreation Updates

UC Davis Land Acknowledgement

We should take a moment to acknowledge the land on which we are gathered. For thousands of years, this land has been the home of Patwin people. Today, there are three federally recognized Patwin tribes: Cachil DeHe Band of Wintun Indians of the Colusa Indian Community, Kletsel Dehe Wintun Nation, and Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation.
The Patwin people have remained committed to the stewardship of this land over many centuries. It has been cherished and protected, as elders have instructed the young through generations. We are honored and grateful to be here today on their traditional lands.


UCDMB Diversity Statement

The University of California, Davis Marching Band (UCDMB) actively works to increasingly foster diversity, equity, and inclusion in its organization in alignment with the University of California Diversity Statement and the University of California, Davis Principles of Community. The UCDMB is committed to sharing its love of playing music with all, as it continues to be the spirit of the UC Davis campus. In order to fulfill this commitment, it must create a welcoming environment for people of any race, ethnicity, gender, age, religion, language, ability/disability, sexual orientation, gender identity, socioeconomic status, and geographic region, or other aspect of personal identity.

The UCDMB on behalf of itself, previous iterations of its organization, and the greater communities to which it belongs acknowledges the injustices it has knowingly and unknowingly participated in or perpetuated and accepts responsibility to influence change within itself and the communities to which it belongs in order to better serve people of all backgrounds.

In order to achieve these goals, the UCDMB is committed to the following: (1) removing barriers to participation (e.g. physical, financial, or social) (2) actively engaging with the work/media of creators with diverse identities (3) providing resources and training for our members to foster an environment of allyship, growth, and expression. (4) paying homage to the Indigenous people and land on which the Davis campus is located.

This diversity statement was created by a committee of UC Davis Marching Band students and staff and submitted for review and feedback to the band’s membership. The UCDMB is committed to reviewing and revising this statement annually to ensure its pledge continues to meet the evolving needs of its members and the greater communities to which it belongs.


Vision Statement

We are committed to providing an inclusive environment to support UC Davis and its community through entertainment and the embodiment of Aggie Pride.


Mission Statement

The band is a volunteer organization that exists to serve, promote and represent the UC Davis community by striving for excellence in musical performance. Our mission is to cultivate a welcoming space for student well being, growth and development while embracing diversity and individuality.


Values Statement

  • Welcoming
  • Integrity
  • Passion
  • Individuality
  • Spirit
  • Voluntary
  • Unique
  • Student Centric
  • Musicality
  • Responsibility


UC Davis Marching Band Leadership

​Director: Dr. Garrett Rigsby

Phone:  530-752-9239

Email: garigsby@ucdavis.edu

Coordinator: Brad Sparks

Phone:  530-754-2253

Email: besparks@ucdavis.edu


The 2021 Marching Band Student Staff

Student Manager: James Klipfel

Student Director: Celia Murillo Amezcua

Drum Major: Nina "Nines" Jorgensen

History and Publicity Manager:

Instrument Manager: Sara Hobson

Uniform Manager: Daniel Fernandez

Librarian: Micah Gruenwald

Stunts Coordinator: Mitchell Tran

The 2021 Marching Band Section Leaders:

Flutes: Rodolfo Murguia and Sophia Zertuche

Clarinets: Selena Alvarez

Alto Saxophones: Jason Wu

Tenor Saxophones: Daniel Fernandez

Baritax: Andrea Sommer

Trumpets/Mellophones: Alec Faith and Viswathish "V" Dinesh

Trombones: JP Aquino and Andres Contreras

Sousaphones: James Klipfel and Claire Inouye

Drums: Jennifer Lainez and Josemanuel Ortiz